Gold leaf Laduree and Ah Chew Chinese desserts, Singapore

It’s been a few months since my last Ladurée and while in Singapore, a trip to the Ladurée in Takashimaya was in order.
I loved the Sakura special I had during Sakura season in Tokyo so when I saw they had a special 24K Gold Leaf macaron I bought it. And surprise surprise it was only SGD7.90!

image

Look at that shine

It was surprisingly chocolately. Gold leaf doesn’t really have a flavour but it was unique!

image

The tea-based Marine Antoinette wasn’t my favourite but the Rose-Lemon was tasty. Nice contrast between the sharp lemon and soft rose flavour.

On the other side of the dessert spectrum we have Ah Chew’s Desserts, a traditional Chinese tong sui or dessert place. It’s not my first time and it left such a good impression I made two visits there during my trip!
image

image

It was very cool inside the shop thanks to the air conditioning

It was a 5 minute walk away from Oasia hotel and I didn’t even have to walk in the scorching heat thanks to the underground passage. So if you’re coming via MRT you don’t have to walk very far.

There is a large variety of hot and cold desserts and some can be served either way.
image

This being the afternoon, my Singaporean friend and I were both sweating and in need of some icy refreshment. I chose the Aloe Vera jelly with Strawberry (SGD4) which… Mmm. SO refreshing. I’m a fan of Aloe Vera jelly, and the chopped strawberries and ice were perfect for the heat.

Ladurée Singapore: #02-09. Ngee Ann City (Takashimaya), Singapore

Open from 10am to 9:30pm

Ah Chew’s Desserts: 181 Thomson Road, Goldhill Shopping Centre, Singapore (close to Novena MRT)

Open from 11:30am to 12am

Leave a Reply

